Hard Words

Acting on the advice of my good friend, Faiz, I have set up this blog as a way of chronicling my daily reflections in an enduring format.  The reflections on this page will not aim to establish a kind of Hegelian System; rather they will be more along the lines of Kierkegaardian fragments.

These reflections will be written in the spirit of the “hard words” of Emerson’s famous quotation:

“Speak what you think today in hard words and tomorrow speak what tomorrow thinks in hard words again, though it contradict every thing you said today.”

Thus, these reflections will aim to be honest articulations of my present view of things and will not necessarily be consistent taken together.  At best, they aim to be what Niels Bohr calledgreat truths” when he said that:

“There are two kinds of truth, small truth and great truth. You can recognize a small truth because its opposite is a falsehood.  The opposite of a great truth is another truth.”

I believe that all things in the universe are interconnected; hence, these words that flow from my mind through my fingers are words also from the universe.  The air that courses through my lungs is not separate from the wind.  These words are as much the wind’s as Adam’s.  They emerge out of the wholeness of reality; the One that appears in so many multifaceted, dazzlingly beauty and horrifyingly ugly forms.  And at the same time, they are simply the limited reflections of a humble man.

I hope you enjoy riding these waves of thought along with me.  My words are as much yours as mine.

Leave a Reply

