Values

Often, it is through discussions with others who espouse totally different values from ours that our own values come into focus. I spoke to a man who prized the accumulation of wealth and expensive commodities above nearly anything else. This made me realize how little I care about making more money than I would need to comfortably support my family.

What means most to me in this life? Cultivating virtues (compassion, wisdom, mindfulness, caring, strength, courage, etc.), having fun with friends and connecting with others, love, enlightenment through insight and knowledge, the joys of solitude, creative expression through writing and music, the wonders of the natural world, openness of heart and mind to new experiences and perspectives, experiencing oneness with the ultimate dimension of life, and the freedom to explore the things that interest me. Nearly everything I do speaks to one or more of these values in some way.

Leave a Reply

