On the Flexible Approach to Life

The flexible approach to life is more in tune with the fluidic nature ofi life itself; life flows and the malleable flows with it. The rigid is eroded and erased.

As an illustration of this point, today I woke up feeling crushed and deeply sad. Now, I feel joyful and peaceful. All emotional states are impermanent, so there’s no need to cling to any one of them, whether enjoyable or not. As the Tao te Ching puts it, “it can blow for only half a morning, rain for only half a day.”  Emotions flow.  If I am flexible, I can flow with them without being disturbed by them.  If I am rigid, my emotions erode me and wear me away.

Leave a Reply

