The Girl and the Sage

By Adam J. Pearson


Painting: “Hilltop Tree” by Richard Herman
***
A young girl ran up a hill to the tree at its top, where a wise sage was meditating.
“Sir!” She said. “I am sorry to disturb you, but I have a question. I am very frustrated and I don’t know what to do…”
The sage smiled and opened his eyes slowly. “What is on your mind today?”
“Everywhere I go, people are hurting. They hold views that hurt them. They say things that hurt others and themselves. My mom hurts. My dad hurts. My sister hurts.”
“Yes, hurting is everywhere, isn’t it?” said the sage.
“Yes… but that is my problem. I want to help. But there are so many hurting people. And I am just one girl…”
“I understand your frustration. What is your question for me?”
The little girl looked up at  him with tears in her eyes and asked, “With all of this suffering… what can I do?”
The wise man was silent for a few moments. When he spoke, he said only this:
Do what you can.”

Leave a Reply

