The Way of Bold Healing: The Four Phrases of Ho’oponopono in Practice

By Adam J. Pearson

What is Ho’oponopono?

Ho’oponopono is an ancient Hawaiian art of healing, which developed as a social practice, a way of resolving conflicts between people, families and groups.  Inspired by his teacher Mornah Simeona, Dr. Ihaleakala Hew Len developed ho’oponopono into an inner practice for individuals, a technique for nonjudgmentally meeting whatever we encounter in daily life.  For Dr. Hew Len, ho’oponopono is a way of “cleaning” or “clearing” conditioning and unconscious data–learned tendencies to think, feel, act, and react in certain ways–that we have accumulated over the years so that they no longer run our lives.

According to this viewpoint, we are in some way responsible for everything that appears in our life simply because it arises in our life.  This doesn’t mean that we should feel guilty for all of the bad things that happen in the world; rather, it means that we recognize the part we play in the events that happen to us. It means recognizing the unconscious data or conditioning that plays itself out both in our own body-minds and those of others.

From the point of view of ho’oponopono, if we encounter violence and anger in others, there must be something in us that reflects these same tendencies. In fact, from this perspective, the ‘external world’ and the ‘inner world’ of thoughts, memories and feelings are not ontologically separate; instead, they are  seamlessly one.  Whatever we see outside of our bodies is experienced within us from this point of view. And because it is appears or arises within us, we can work with it.  We work with it by doing the cleaning, that is, working through the conditioned data so that it can be released from the mind. In the absence of thoughts that argue with reality, peace is naturally present and we find ourselves at Home within it.

Picture: Dr. Hew Len

The process of working through unconscious memories, conditions, or data  is the essence of ho’oponopono practice; at its core, it remains a practice of healing, which operates both on our own minds and on our subjective experience of the universe, which arises, not outside, but within us.

Because we are working with our inner world–the world our brains project as sensation is interpreted through cognition into perception–we can do the cleaning practice as much on the actions of other people as on our own actions and as much on their patterns of reaction as on our own. We can do it on events happening thousands of miles away from where we live, or emotional patterns playing themselves out right here, within us.

This practice can include absolutely anything and excludes nothing.

I will repeat this point for emphasis because it is crucial: absolutely anything can be a focus of ho’oponopono practice.

Zero: The Goal of Ho’oponopono Practice

The goal of ho’oponopono practice is to return to what Dr. Hew Len calls the state of ‘zero.’ At zero, the stories we have unconsciously made up about reality cease to run us and robotically dictate our actions while we mistakenly feel we are choosing these actions freely.

Zero is a state free from conditioned patterns of perception. It is a state of harmony with reality as it is in which we are naturally at peace with whatever appears, at Home in reality as opposed to imprisoned in thoughts we unquestioningly believe.

According to Dr. Hew Len, we can return to zero by means of the practice of ho’oponopono, a word which means ‘to make right.’ At zero, thought, conditioning, and memory do not imprison us.  Conditioning factors and conceptual limitations lose their grip on our experience. Instead, we become aware of a deep sense of peace and a heart-opening love without object or clinging, which gradually replaces the neurotic, self-destructive, suffering-ridden life we had lived before.

In this sense, ho’oponopono is a transformative practice; it works on all levels of our being. As we work on ourselves, we work on the world we experience; as we work on the world we experience, we work on ourselves.
Central to the cleaning method is a powerfully holistic view of the universe and of existence in which the ‘inner’ impacts the ‘outer’ and the ‘outer’ impacts the ‘inner.’

Differently stated, when you change the thoughts through which you see the world, the world you see begins to change as well. You shift the roots of the world you experience within you and thus perceive a different universe than you did before. A more peaceful, connected world begins to replace the hostile land in which you felt alienated, isolated, and alone.

Cleaning Conditioning with The Four Phrases

While Dr. Hew Len offers many methods of ‘cleaning’ for working with this conditioning that is pervasively present within us, the one that I have found most powerful and helpful is the practice of the ‘four phrases.’

The four phrases are:
I’m sorry.
Please forgive me.
Thank you,
and I love you.

We can use literally anything as a focus for the four phrases practice. We can use an emotion, a tendency towards certain kinds of action (e.g. impulsive buys, overeating, or self-blame), a person, a place, an event, literally anything.

We begin by choosing a focus for the practice and then we formulate statements about it using the four phrases as guidance.

Inwardly, we say: “I’m sorry that __________.”

Then “Please forgive me for ____________.”

Then “Thank you for ___________” and end with “I love you.”

We offer this “I love you” both to the focus of the practice and, ultimately, to the greater ‘something’ beyond. Dr. Hew Len calls it “the Divine;” Kabbalah calls it the “Ain Soph” (limitlessness); Ken Wilber calls it “Spirit;” Taoism calls it “the Tao” (the Way); Tibetan Buddhism calls it “Suchness;” Zen calls it the “Unborn;” Advaita Vedanta calls it the “Absolute” or “Brahman;” Sufism calls it “the Beloved.”

I prefer to leave this greater ‘something’ unnamed, a Mystery unfathomable and unclassifiable by the mind.  There’s no need to worry about what name to use because it is truly nameless; “the Tao that can be named is not the eternal Tao,” as the Tao te Ching says. It is enough to simply do the practice, trusting that it will bring clarity, gratitude, peace, deeper love, and appreciation for life. So far, it has never failed to yield these fruits.

You may wonder: how do we come up with what to say to fill in the blanks in the four phrases as shown above?

Extensive thinking is not involved. This is a practice spontaneously guided by intuition in the moment.

We just say whatever feels most honest and natural, whatever comes to mind, without censoring ourselves.  If we lie to ourselves in this practice, it is not very helpful. It is more effective to be totally honest with ourselves about our motivations and what we are really doing.

We don’t have to fill in the blanks though. If you can’t think of anything to add, just put your attention on your focus and say simply: “I’m sorry, please forgive me, thank you, I love you.” Even simply saying these phrases with your focus in mind can work wonders.

I would invite you to try simply repeating the four phrases and see what feelings and sensations arise when you do. Experience is the best teacher here.

We can also use just a single one of the phrases  like a mantra, “thank you… thank you… thank you…” or “I love you… I love you… I love you…” This is a way to experience the effect of each of the phrases on its own, which can experientially deepen your understanding of their power. In ho’oponopono, we learn by doing.

Examples of the Four Phrases in Practice

Let us look at some examples of what the four phrases look like in practice.

On one occasion, I noticed that I was comparing myself with other people and that while this compulsive comparing can makes me feel temporarily better or worse about myself, it ultimately doesn’t make me any happier.  I chose this as my ‘focus’ for the four phrases practice. I focused inwardly on the tendency to compulsively compare. Then, silently in my mind, I let the four phrases  give rise to a spontaneous flow of words in my mind, just allowing the words to come  naturally without overthinking or overanalyzing. This is what came:

I’m sorry for the movement to compare myself to others and to find myself lacking and inadequate. I’m sorry for punishing myself when I find myself ‘less good’ or valuable than the people I compare myself with. Please forgive me for mistaking these mind-concocted stories about my value for realities. Thank you for revealing that these value judgments only have meaning in the mind and not in the world beyond it.  Thank you for showing me that when I obsessively compare myself to others and find myself either lacking or feeling ‘better than’ them, this is only the inner child of my unconscious trying to feel good enough and yearning to be loved.  Please forgive me for not being caring and compassionate to this inner child and for denying these tendencies rather than accepting and embracing them.  Body, mind, heart, and being, I release you from the urge to compare yourself with others. I love you.”

A friend of mine ran the four phrases on the violence she observed around her. She inwardly focused her attention on war and let the four phrases guide the words that flowed out of them:

I am sorry, war, please forgive me for all unconscious ways I contribute to violence, oppression and ignorance. Thank you for bringing my attention to the impulse to fight, and to re-examine if it actually works, I love you. Thank you to the sadness that arises when I see such violence, for reminding me to care and love. Forgive me, I love you earth, despite all the cruelty, I love you humans, thank you.”

While considering his tendency to laugh at other people for his own amusement, a man ran the four phrases:

I’m sorry for laughing at people rather than with them. Please forgive me for making myself feel like I’m better than others by belittling them through my cynical laughter. Thank you for opening my eyes to the motivations underneath this loveless laughter so that it can be transmuted into something greater. I love you.”

After talking to someone who said they felt like they had to hold back expressing themselves out of fear of how others would judge them, I inwardly said the four phrases to myself, thinking:

I’m sorry for whatever it is in me that has given rise to these feelings that you must hold back and fear the judgment of others in you. Please forgive me for whatever I have done to contribute to the problem and not be part of the solution. Thank you for the beauty that you share and the wonders you are. I love you.”

Feeling shame for her sexual desires, one women ran the four phrases on the feeling, saying inside herself:

I’m sorry I put shame on myself for natural impulses that are built into the human form. Please forgive me, body and brain, for my aggressive authoritarian approaches to your reflexes. Thank you for revealing my resistance to you. I love you.”

After feeling insecure about blemishes on his face, a man ran the four phrases on the feeling and judgment that arose within him:

Dear face, I’m sorry I often look at you and think you are ugly and that your pimples ruin your whole appearance. Please forgive me for devaluing you and making myself feel unattractive and consequently, insecure in the process. Thank you for allowing me to express emotion to the world and forcing me to be honest by betraying the lies I speak with my tongue. I love you.”

A woman noticed herself needing people to see they were wrong before she could forgive them. She worked the four phrases on this tendency, saying inwardly:

I’m sorry I feel the need to get people to see the error of their ways before I can forgive them. I’m sorry that my need to forgive people is selfishly motivated; to remove my own discomfort without addressing the reason, within myself, for the said discomfort. Forgive me, Thank you, I love you.”

A man noticed himself often trying to ‘fix’ his loved ones. He ran the four phrases on this pattern of behaviour, saying:

I’m sorry friends and family for trying to fix you, please forgive me. I love and accept you just as you are. Thank you for existing. Sorry ego, for thinking that unless you’re perfect, then I am unworthy. I forgive you your flaws before I try and change you. I love you.”

A man noticed himself resisting those people he felt were being judgemental around him. He worked the four phrases on this resistance, thinking:

I’m sorry I feel hurt and disdain when I hear people being judgmental. I guess this is something I don’t like about myself either and so I keep it hidden from myself, and others. Please forgive me, thank you, I love you.”

Thinking about the Japanese fishermen who slaughtered many dolphins in Japan, a woman ran the phrases not only on their killing, but also on the fishermen themselves and the reactions they were experiencing as a result of their actions, saying to herself:

“Dear fishermen, I am sorry, I am sure you are doing the best that you can. I am sure it isn’t easy to feel all the hatred being directed towards you right now. Please forgive me for any way I have contributed to your discomfort. I am sorry that my love and deep connection to the dolphins make me go into a feeling of a  protective momma bear, forgive me for any blind rage that has been directed towards you. A mother would throw herself in front of a car for her child, and some people on earth feel that dolphins are equivalent to their children. We don’t mean you any harm, and we don’t want to threaten your livelihood and cause you damage, or threaten your ability to take care of your children; we just love our babies so much. Thank you for this opportunity to bring awareness to the issue so that humanity can evolve and grow and find some maturity amidst all the chaos. I do love you, and appreciate that you are doing the very best you can, please find it within you to stop the killing, and find another way, I am so sure there is another way. Thank you for the ability to listen to your heart, thank you to the creative genius that is working out a solution this very moment. I love you.”

This same woman ran the phrases once more from a different perspective:

I am so sorry, dolphins. We should be evolved enough to treat you with the respect and dignity that you deserve. I am sorry for all the ways I am not evolved, forgive me for all the ways that I could grow and my stubbornness blocks it. Forgive me for all the ways I resist learning something new becasue my cultural conditioning and old data play so powerfully in my thoughts, words and actions. I am sorry for all the ways I am unconscious. Thank you Japanese fishermen for showing me how much work there is to be done, thank you for the opportunity to raise above this, and open the heart even more. I love you humanity, I love you Japanese fishermen, I love you dolphins.”

A man noticed his tendency to judge his body in ways that made him suffer and he worked the four phrases on this habit:

Dear body, I’m sorry I often look at you and think you are too thin and not muscular enough. Please forgive me for devaluing you and making myself feel unnatractive and consequently, insecure in the process. Thank you for grounding me in the world, carrying me through life, enabling me to do many amazing things, and being the support and basis of my life. I love you.

A woman noticed she was feeling guilt and saw it in a new light. She worked with the four phrases from this new perspective, saying inwardly:

Dear guilt: I am sorry for the assumption that you are a ‘bad thing,’ please forgive me for rejecting your gifts. Thank you for teaching me compassion, empathy and consideration. I love you.”

A girl noticed herself feeling resistance when her parents would ‘meddle’ in her affairs. She worked with the four phrases on this feeling, saying inwardly:

I am sorry, please forgive me for feeling anger towards my parents when they try to involve themselves in my affairs. Although this translates to ‘interference’ in my mind, they are only trying to help. If they carry fear and attachment to my success this is their own burden to carry. I release them of my resentment and bitterness. Thank you for this mirror, an opportunity to become conscious of my own issues so that I will no longer reject feelings of helplessness, dependency, defectiveness and inadequacy. I love you so much.”

The Fruits of the Four Phrases

Regularly working with the four phrases can produce some remarkable results.  The “I’m sorry” phrase encourages us to take responsibility and to own up to what we are doing rather than to deny or seek to avoid accountability.  The more we practice the four phrases, the more we begin to own our actions, our feelings, our thoughts, and everything we encounter, however unpleasant, violent, or suffering-imbued it may be.

The “Please forgive me” phrase encourages us to develop an informed sense of forgiveness.  About this phrase, Dr. Hew Len used to say: “You don’t say “Forgive me” because the Divine needs to forgive you. You say it because you need to hear it.” As we learn to open ourselves up to forgiveness, we experience the forgiveness we seek. It comes with the practice.

The “Thank you” phrase encourages us to be grateful and to look for the benefits that hide  beneath the apparent misfortunes and unpleasantness we encounter in daily life.  It encourages us to be appreciative and grateful and to translate these habits into daily life.  We tend to be happier and feel more fulfilled as a result.

The “I love you” phrase has the effect of opening our hearts. We tend to close ourselves off from others and from our own feelings in order to try to avoid getting hurt. This is not a fault; it is an innocent error, an honest mistake, an innocently-adopted defense mechanism.  Our inner child, the unconscious, makes this mistake only because it wants what is best for us and simply doesn’t know any other better way to go about achieving it.  The “I love you” phrase works through this habit. It fosters acceptance, open-heartedness, love, caring, and empathy.  It is a powerful phrase indeed. The more we say “I love you,” even if we don’t feel it at first, the more loving we eventually end up becoming.  It has a hypnotic, subconscious effect that produces conscious results.

Together, these four phrases have a healing effect on our psychology. They heal and release the things the Buddha called the Three Poisons: clinging, aversion, and self-delusion. The Buddha saw these as the fundamental causes of suffering. The four phrases give us an easy, simple, effective, moving, and beneficial way of working with these causes of suffering so they gradually release their hold on us. As a result, our suffering begins to diminish, and we begin to feel happier and more whole within ourselves.  As we work on our suffering and the suffering of the world, we bring greater happiness not only to our own life, but also to the lives of those around us.

These four simple phrases also encourage us to be more mindful in daily life, to pay closer attention, and end help loosen the hold of internalized, conditioned data that tend to take us over and run us without us even realizing it.  In this way, the phrases offer us liberation and freedom.

They return us gradually to our original state, to zero, where there are no mental tangles, memory blockages, or pangs of suffering.

Beyond this, they open us up to inspiration.  According to Dr. Hew Len, we can either respond from memory, or respond from inspiration.

Working with the four phrases opens up new insights and new inspiration that we never achieved before by means of conscious reasoning.  The phrases and the kind of focused, introspective attention they foster, increase our intuition and make us more receptive to subtle and valuable insights.

The Impact of Ho’oponopono on My Life

While this practice may appear cheesy, it can truly be transformative.  I was such a cynic about it at first. Since I was deep into the study of science  at the time, I attacked people who practice it as ‘woo woo’ lovers of ‘comforting nonsense’ and dismissed it as a waste of time. How kind of me!

However, as I began to feel more miserable in my life, I eventually decided that I had nothing to lose by giving it a chance.  After all, science is about gathering information through experimentation and observation. It wouldn’t be very scientific of me to attack and discard a practice without ever having attempted it.

So, I began to work with the four phrases on every stressful, angering, saddening, anxiety-causing thought that arose in my mind. At first, I just repeated the phrases by themselves while simply holding my target focus in mind while I did so.

In time, the blanks began to fill themselves in quite naturally. It was more like I was watching a beautiful creative process unfolding on its own than that I was orchestrating it. As you go deeper into ho’oponopono, your sense of relinquishing control and leaning into the practice begins to deepen with often moving results.

As I gained practice with phrases, I gradually came to feel their benefits. These benefits are accessible to anybody. No special training is needed to work with the phrases.  They are simple, familiar, and easy to learn. And they are powerful.

My experience suggests that working with these phrases can open us up to the deep, unspeakable, and powerful love that Rumi wrote about in his poetry. It is a formless love that does not rely on conditions. My experience is that there is a love that wells up from within that isn’t interested in conceptual fantasies or egotistical interpretations, but simply embraces reality as it finds it. It is a love that helps unsnare the tangles in our minds and release the shackles of suffering.

I know how it may sound–trust me–but I can now say with confidence that this love is not a spiritual pipedream; it’s a directly experienceable reality that reveals itself as you work with the four phrases. In the absence of thoughts that argue with reality, the mind is naturally at harmony with what is, and in that state, there is peace and an unobstructed awareness of love’s presence. I invite you to test out this hypothesis by conducting the experiment of working with the four phrases and noticing the results that follow when you do.

It is easy to resist this love-based approach as “hippy nonsense” or “fluffy garbage” or “woo woo” superficiality. I know I resisted and dismissed it in just this way for a long time. However, ho’oponopono opens us up to a love far deeper than the superficial love to which we are accustomed, a love that embraces even the nastiest, most damaged parts of ourselves and our world and leaves nothing out.

Everything looks different when you see it through the eyes of this love. All of the little flaws and points of criticism that the mind obsesses over cease to appear to be problems. They, too, get swept up in the embrace of a love that encompasses the entire universe that appears in perception and excludes nothing.

All of the aversions, attachments, and delusions that cause suffering in the mind are transmuted when they are burned with the fire of a love that holds them without clinging. Resisting resistance only breeds more resistance; loving resistance transforms it into acceptance. When you practice ho’oponopono, you begin to learn to love the mental chains that bind you until they unlock themselves and you find yourself gracefully falling into freedom. Love is the grand opener of all, the master key of Being. And it is the secret weapon of ho’oponopono.

Indeed, ho’oponopono has taken me out of sadness and depression and into a sense of expansive joy and peacefulness that I carry into daily life. Practicing ho’oponopono has revealed to me that I was caught up in patterns of reaction and cynical criticism that I didn’t even realize were operating within me… these habits were really subconscious programs, feedback loops running on auto-pilot in consciousness and only appearing to be free will. In all honesty, there was very little love in me while I was acting out of these unconscious programs. I was very closed off and I didn’t even realize it. I kept everything at an arm’s distance, far enough away to be able to criticize and laugh at it. I was living in fear.

Working with meeting all phenomena that arise within me with the four phrases, however pleasant or unpleasant, has opened the floodgates of inner warmth within me again… it honestly feels like a totally fresh and new way of relating to existence. I’ve fallen in love with love pure and simple again, a love I had cynically discounted before. Working with the four phrases is clearing out a lot of causes of suffering in my life, a lot of unnecessary shadows and mental cobwebs, and a veritable host of unconscious programs grounded in maladaptive habits and memories. In their place, it is leaving only itself and the peace that is ever present beneath the clamor of conflict.

 
Conclusion: A Bold Way of Healing
This, in closing, is the way of ho’oponopono in a nutshell: not resisting or trying to ‘fix’ what comes up within us, but boldly daring to meet it with love, gratitude, responsibility, and forgiveness without any reason or condition. Ho’oponopono says: don’t take the mind’s stories or the heart’s sorrows too seriously. Just embrace whatever arises within you, no matter how ugly, painful, terrifying, or drenched in suffering it may be. Peace and serenity will reveal themselves over time just as clouds slowly clear to reveal the golden blazing of the sun.

Ho’oponopono denies nothing and incorporates everything into its stream of processing through the four phrases. It cleans the conditioning off of everything and gradually releases it, and us, back to zero.  I am not interested in preaching this practice, nor am I trying to convince you to give it a try.

That is totally up to you.

All I can tell you is that it has made all the difference for me. Ho’oponopono speaks, I think, very well to a world besieged by itself, desperate, afraid, suffering, and lost.  It offers us a healthy way to encounter the world and navigate through daily life, a way that brings much good both to ourselves and to everyone around us, a way of love in a world of apathy. A way of bold healing.

33 thoughts on “The Way of Bold Healing: The Four Phrases of Ho’oponopono in Practice

  1. Wow! I have been studying ho’oponopono lately and really enjoying it! Its a beautiful process and i have seen some amazing results in my life after i started practicing this 🙂 today, i was wanting to read some more about it, and i came across this blog of yours! And i am grateful that i stumbled upon it, bcoz it is by far, one of the most detailed and beautiful description of this process and its application – that i have come across ever! So a biiiiig thank you to you for sharing this with us here! I love you 🙂

    Oh, and did you happen to attend one of dr. Hew len’s classes by any chance? Your clarity on this subject made me think so… 🙂

    god bless….

  2. Thank you, your site is the first site to share a deeper understanding for me. ESPECIALLY the examples on your other page. I started Hoop..a few days ago but feelings of failure, hopeless and despair, this data has actually convinced me I will fail at hoop too.. and it wont work. I try and do the hoop on that data but its like a circle. Any advise?

  3. Thank you for the kind words, Dominic, Kelly, and Songoftheself! I’m sorry, please forgive me, thank you, I love you.

    Songofmyself: I watched a 4 hour seminar from Dr. Hew Len in which he explained the method, its theory and its practice. I wrote this shortly after that experience.

    Kelly, I’ve noticed in my own experience that anytime I adopt a serious practice from meditation to the four phrases, my status quo conditioning–my data–always resists it. It doesn’t like change. It especially is not open to change that threatens it. Feelings of failure, hopelessness, and despair may arise when you begin the four phrases. That is perfectly normal and fine; just clean on them. Run the four phrases on them. Right now, it feels like a circle because the resistance from the conditioning is still strong. With time however, the ‘hold’ or ‘pull’ of the data becomes weaker. Meditation, mindfulness, and the four phrases all loosen up attachments, aversions, and the strong influence of data/conditioning. Each time you clean on a piece of data, its hold on you weakens and a little more freedom opens up within you.

    The metaphor of water is often used in ho’oponopono as it is so central to the Hawaiian way of life as an island. In the ocean, we sometimes come across great stones. They look sturdy, powerful, unmovable. But what we notice over time is that as the gentle waters lap at them, the rocks begin to erode. On a large enough time scale, we see the large, powerful rock reduced to small pebbles, which ultimately get turned by the currents into the beautiful sand on the beaches of Hawaii. This image is an image of you. The ocean is your body-mind; the rocks are the data; the water is the cleaning, the four phrases. If you keep at it, even these rocks that are causing you suffering right now will begin to erode until they too are reduced to beautiful sand. Each time you practice, you open up a greater space of freedom from conditioning within you. Indeed, no true freedom is possible without working through our conditioning. And ho’oponopono happens to offer us one of the most enjoyable and beautifully simple methods for doing just this; it is a way of bold healing, but also a way of freedom, of liberation.

    If your body-mind resists the four phrases very strongly, just reduce the four phrases to 1: I love you. Just say “I love you” to the data. Over and over again. As Dr. Hew Len often stated, this is an ongoing practice, not a one-time fix. But the attention you invest pays dividends; the flowers that grow from these small seeds are many and beautiful indeed. Gradually, the resistance will loosen up. Freedom will prevail.

  4. Wow, thank you so much Adam, you have really brought me a deeper understanding and encouraged me to continue with the work. I feel hooponopono has come to me now because it is time for the changes to take place. I love your writing, I love the way you explained the process to me so very clearly, thank you, I love you!

  5. Thank you for this article, it has helped alot. For some reason I am drawn to Hooponopono, but felt much like you did with it being cheesy. Your insights have shone a light on this practice with a new understanding….or maybe the student is ready. 🙂

  6. Pingback: inositol naturally
  7. Hmm it appears like your site ate my first comment (it
    was super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I
    had written and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
    I as well am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to
    everything. Do you have any recommendations for first-time
    blog writers? I’d definitely appreciate it.

  8. Greetings I am so grateful I found your site, I really found you by error, while I was browsing on Aol for something else, Anyhow I am here now and would just like to say thanks for a tremendous post and a all round enjoyable blog (I also love the theme/design),
    I don’t have time to read through it all at the moment but I have saved it and also included your RSS feeds, so
    when I have time I will be back to read a lot more, Please do keep up the great b.

  9. With havin so much content do you ever run into any problems
    of plagorism or copyright infringement? My site has a lot of completely
    unique content I’ve either created myself or outsourced but it looks
    like a lot of it is popping it up all over the internet without my agreement.
    Do you know any methods to help reduce content
    from being ripped off? I’d genuinely appreciate it.

    • My blog suffers from the same problem, my friend. That’s just one of the hazards of the blog medium. The advantage is that it’s easy to disseminate content this way instantly and all around the world. The disadvantage is that you run the risk of being plagiarized and ripped off. Even if we choose not to blog anymore and just compile articles into books and spread them that way (naturally to a much smaller readership), we still run the risk of being pirated either by duplicating the ebook into a .pdf or scanning the physical book and making it a .pdf as well. I’ve just come to accept this as a reality of the medium. Until I choose to write a book, it won’t seriously phase me all that much. I totally understand your concern, though.

  10. You really make it appear so easy along with your presentation but I to find this topiic to be actually onee thing which I think
    I might by no means understand. It seems too ccomplicated and extremely
    huge for me. I’m having a loook ahead on your next publish, I’ll aattempt tto get the hold of it!

    • I hear you. I found it difficult at first too. If you have trouble thinking of things to say after each of the four phrases, you can simply repeat the phrases themselves on whatever subject, object, person, or situation you would like to practice with. You could simply hold your practice focus in mind and say “I’m sorry, Please forgive me, Thank you, I Love you.” If that is too difficult, you can simply say “I love you.” My favourite version these days is simply: “I love you, I forgive you.” Thank you for your kind words. Hang in there; you can’t do this wrong. It’s just a matter of practicing one moment at a time.

  11. Heya this is somewhat of off topic but I was wondering if
    blogs use WYSIWYG editors or if you have to manually
    code with HTML. I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding skills so I wanted to
    get guidance from someone with experience. Any help would be
    enormously appreciated!

    • Hi there, if you work through WordPress, as I do, they have premade “Themes” or templates you can use so that you don’t have to use HTML. I have never manually coded with HTML on this site. Their system is extremely visual and intuitive, so if coding is a concern, don’t worry about it!

      Take care and good luck with your own blog!
      Adam

  12. Howdy! I could have sworn I’ve been to your blog before but after looking at a few of the articles I
    realized it’s new to me. Nonetheless, I’m definitely pleased
    I found it and I’ll be bookmarking it and checking back frequently!

  13. Hey I am so grateful I found your website, I
    really found you by error, while I was browsing on Yahoo for
    something else, Nonetheless I am here now and would just like to say thanks for a remarkable post and
    a all round thrilling blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to browse it all at the moment but I have saved it and also
    included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be
    back to read more, Please do keep up the awesome b.

  14. Hi .ive been practicing hooponopono the last for munth but I still don’t find a huge change in my life .How long will it take to see the change ?

    • Hi Shereen, thank you for your comment. The answer is that it varies with every individual. The conditioning or data that each of us has accumulated is different. It depends also on how consistent we are with the practice and how often we fall back into letting the ego run things, in which case we accumulate more data rather than clean what we already have within us. Some people experience immediate results the first time they start the practice. Others take days or weeks to really find their stride. Rest assured of one thing: if you put energy into the four phrases along with sincerity and love and true forgiveness, the results cannot fail to come. In all likelihood, they are already bearing fruit within you, but the fruits are being covered up by the data. That’s perfectly fine. The conditioning cannot harm you at all. You’re doing amazing. Stick with it and you will see your energy has not been invested in vain.

  15. I’m studying and practicing Ho’oponoono for few years now and I can say it’s magic how’s clearing obstacles in my life! It made me figured it ut what was my passion and now I’m traveling the world and inspiring other to follow their passions too, thank’s to this amazing knowledge!
    Loved your article and how clear you’ve expressed how is working for you too!
    Thank you, thank you, thank you!

  16. hello there;
    you truly write so beautifully and love flows through you.
    I myself have been doing Hooponono for almost 2 years off and on..but most recently really consistent.
    I realize that everything comes from within and that we really are all perfect and it is the memories we need to release.
    The most important thing for me hearing from Ihaleakala say was..It took years for him to get that he only he was responsible for his thoughts and memories..only to work on him
    I have spent much time with questions..oh so many questions..it was exhausting..
    When i just started to really let go and love everything..things began to change..
    I remember taking my dog out..and looking up at the sky and there were two double rainbows in the sky..I thought they were the most beautiful thing i had ever seen..They stayed with me for a long time.
    We all have rainbows…they are in our heart..and if we clean they become more vibrant..
    love can heal anything…

Leave a Reply

