New Video Talk / Poetry Reading: Kobayashi Issa’s “The World of Dew”

By Adam J. Pearson

wordsbanner

Dear friends,

I just uploaded a short video talk about Kobayashi Issa’s poignant poem, “The World of Dew.” In the video, I recite the brief poem in both Japanese and English and share a few reflections on the life of the poet and the significance of the poem.

The video can be viewed here:

I’d love to hear from you:

  • What would you like to see more of on the Words from the Wind channel?
  • Do you have any favourite articles or poems from the blog that you would like to see recordings of?
  • Do you have any questions you’d like me to make videos answering?

Thank you sincerely for your input; It means a lot to me.

Take care,
Adam

2 thoughts on “New Video Talk / Poetry Reading: Kobayashi Issa’s “The World of Dew”

  1. Very nice bro! I went through a period where I almost hated poetry, because almost all of the contemporary poetry that I heard was self-referential and self-reflexive; It was basically whining and self-aggrandizement, “I’m so alone, so sensitive, so misunderstood, it hurts so much to be me, I’m so special I could just die”, lol!!! There was little-to-no attempt to communicate meaning, just anecdotal and obscure riffing that was (I am supposing) trying to pass for “depth”. Then, I read the wonderful poet Robert Bly’s great book that started the men’s movement, “Iron John”, and it brought me back to a love of the transcendent sharing of meaning and feeling that good poetry can inspire.
    All the best my dear brother, Eliot

Leave a Reply

